Method
Where every number comes from, how the quiz ranks strollers, and what our data does not cover.
The pool
The quiz ranks 115 strollers. Our database holds 160 records; a stroller enters the quiz only when its maker states its weight, a child weight limit and a full set of sizes. We read the specs between 2026-10-22 and 2026-10-23.
Held out of the quiz: mountainbuggy-nano-v3 (US shop page says Not Available For Sale).
| Segment | Strollers in the quiz |
|---|---|
| Travel and lightweight | 38 |
| Double | 36 |
| Everyday single | 21 |
| Jogging and all-terrain | 20 |
Where the numbers come from
- Each value comes from the maker's own US product page (1343 values) or the maker's manual (42 values). Every value on a result card links to its page and shows the date we read it.
- Order of trust: the maker's manual, then the maker's product page, then a retailer, then a blog. The quiz uses no retailer or blog values today.
- When two sources differ by more than 5 percent, we keep both and flag the field. We do not average them.
- A value the maker does not state stays empty. The card says “not stated”. We never estimate or fill a gap from memory.
- Weights in kg and folded volumes in litres are converted by a script from the maker's numbers. They are used for ranking only.
- Safety standards appear only as the maker states them. We do not rate safety, and we have not handled these strollers ourselves.
Recall check
We matched every stroller against the recall data of the US Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), by brand, model and serial range (checked 2026-10-22). No stroller in the quiz matched a recall for its own model. 17 strollers have an older recall for a related model; their cards name it and link to the CPSC notice. Check cpsc.gov/Recalls before you buy, used strollers above all.
How the ranking works
Some answers remove strollers. They are plain facts against a maker's number:
- Number of kids: one-child answers remove pure doubles; two-child answers keep doubles and strollers that the maker says take a second seat.
- Age: newborn answers remove strollers whose maker states a minimum age above 0 without a bassinet, insert or car seat adapter.
- Child weight: removes strollers whose maker-stated child limit is lower than your answer.
- Trunk or closet: removes strollers whose folded size is larger than your space in any direction (turning the stroller is allowed).
- Doorway: removes strollers whose open width is larger than your doorway.
- Terrain: “rough” keeps all-terrain and jogging strollers; “running” keeps strollers the maker calls a jogging stroller.
- Budget: removes strollers above your budget.
A missing value never removes a stroller. It shows as “not stated” and lowers the stroller's data score.
The strollers that remain are ranked by a score. Each part is relative to the other strollers that remain, so there is no invented cut-off for “light” or “small”. The lightest scores 1, the heaviest 0, and the rest by how big the difference is, so a few grams cannot move a stroller far.
| Part | Weight in the score |
|---|---|
| Lighter stroller | 0.05 (no lifting), 0.25 (car trunk), 0.35 (stairs, transit, flying) |
| Smaller fold | 0.05, or 0.20 for stairs, flying or a typed space |
| Child-limit headroom above your answer | 0.05 (answer up to 40 lb), 0.15 (above 40 lb) |
| Ready for your child's age | 0.20 (not used for toddlers) |
| Wheels and suspension for your terrain | 0.15 (not used for sidewalks) |
| Takes a second seat (only if a second child is planned) | 0.10 |
| Data completeness (how many key values the maker states) | 0.10 |
Ties go to the stroller with more stated data, then to the lighter one. Price is a filter only: a cheaper stroller does not rank higher. Brand never counts. Shop links never count.
Rules of thumb we use, and will change after feedback: a typed space or doorway has no extra margin (measure with your own); child-limit headroom counts up to 20 lb; a newborn result that needs the maker's bassinet or adapter still shows, ranked lower.
What our data does not cover
- We cover the strollers whose makers publish usable specs on a US page. That is not every stroller sold in the US.
- Graco and Baby Jogger are in our database with a few models, but not in the quiz: their pages state no folded size. Brands with no reachable US maker page when we collected data: Valco, Peg Perego, Maclaren. They are missing from the quiz.
- The brand mix follows which makers print specs, not what sells. Budget answers lean on Delta Children; premium answers on Nuna, UPPAbaby, Cybex and Bugaboo.
- Not checked yet: which car seat fits which stroller, handlebar heights, recline angles, and theme-park size rules.
| Brand | Strollers in the quiz |
|---|---|
| Delta Children | 30 |
| Joovy | 12 |
| Chicco | 10 |
| Nuna | 9 |
| Thule | 7 |
| UPPAbaby | 6 |
| Cybex | 6 |
| Kolcraft | 5 |
| Evenflo | 4 |
| Bumbleride | 3 |
| Mockingbird | 3 |
| BOB Gear | 2 |
| Bugaboo | 2 |
| Zoe | 2 |
| Joie | 2 |
| Ingenuity | 2 |
| Contours | 2 |
| Britax | 2 |
| Colugo | 1 |
| Guava Family | 1 |
| Joolz | 1 |
| Munchkin | 1 |
| Ergobaby | 1 |
| Mamazing | 1 |